Cruisin’

So what a wonderful day it was when I finally got to hug my kids in the airport. They were HUGE!!!! I can’t believe how big they are or how long my son’s hair is. He needs a haircut but I decided to let it slide for now. He will shave his head in March to raise money for pediatric cancer research so it can grow until then I guess because it all averages out 🙂

It didn’t take 20 mins in the airport before my son called me by my ex-wife’s boyfriend’s name. She moved him in with my kids a few months ago and didn’t bother to even discuss it with me first. That is the kind of mother she is now and I feel bad for my kids that they have to watch her dysfunctional and selfish behaviors. Still, nothing I can do about it except try to show them that when they are with me they have a parent who is stable, reliable, caring, considerate and puts their interests ahead of his own. If there is one thing this sabbatical has taught me it is that I they need me now more than ever.

The kids forced me to rent a convertible for the four hour drive from Miami to Cape Canaveral and they had a blast getting the wind blown through their hair. When Alex finally saw a sign to “cruise terminals” he figured it out and the look on his and Alicia’s face made it all worthwhile.

The kids were so excited when we finally boarded and I had to shepherd them to the room before they exploded. This is the first cruise for all of us and I was unsure what to expect. Being a Disney cruise, I knew the kids would have no issue finding things to do because that is what Disney is all about. I was a little nervous about me finding things to do because, as expected, the kids have been off making new friends and have mostly forgotten about me except when I force them to eat with me and to do some family activities or shows. What I’ve come to realize is that the Disney cruise is not for singles or even divorcees and I am feeling a bit isolated. I am going to try to do some of the adult activities but I feel like a third wheel with all the other couples around. This is the first time in a while that I actually miss having a partner because I can see that this cruise would be a blast for couples with kids because the kids do their own thing and you have a lot of free time to spend doing activities with your spouse. I am grateful for the time I do get to spend with my kids and at the gym but this will be my first and last cruise sans a partner :). One good thing is that I got a free body assessment at the gym and it turns out that I am not in as bad a shape as I thought. Losing fifteen pound during my month in Mexico really helped. Technically, I only need to lose another 20 pounds of fat and not gain any more muscle. I will start that right after the cruise 🙂

Alicia and I had some daddy time and went to see Secretariat at the movies. Afterward, I had to drag Alex out of the arcade at 12:30am!!!! Good thing I made them take a nap in the late afternoon. Alex has made four or five friends and hangs out with them regularly. Unfortunately, Alicia has not made any friends she wants to hang out with much and prefers to be by herself or with Alex. I am glad they are so close and love spending time with each other but I worry about Alicia’s shyness and lack of interest in making friends her own age or older.

Tomorrow we stop in St. Maarten and the kids and I go on a rib boat adventure… No idea what that really is but who cares. The day after that we are in St. Thomas and have an all day dolphin excursion before one more day at sea and then Disney’s Castaway Cay island in the Bahamas. We have a para-sailing and stingray excursion there before sailing for home port the following day.

Leave a Reply

