The magic of Mexico.

So it has been almost 4 months since I last saw my children and I now only have a week to go before I get to spend 8 glorious days with them. Time certainly has flown by.

While I have been mostly studying Spanish (like a deer in headlights) I have also had the opportunity to visit some of the sights in and around Puebla. Since I spend 2 hours every afternoon with a guide, I have visited the main churches and museums in central Puebla. Every Wed I have forced myself to go on a 4 or 5 hour excursion outside the city. It has been an education. My first trip was to Cacaxtla which is an archaeological site located near the southern border of the Mexican state of Tlaxcala. It was quite a walk around the area with the pyramid being one of the largest covered sites in the world. We also visited a nearby site called Xochitecatl. See blogroll for more details.

My second visit was to the city of Tecali to observe the ruins of the convent de San Francisco and to watch skilled artisans make everything under the sun out of onyx and marble. Tecali is one of the main Mexican hubs for marble and oynx and the low prices for masterful work was simply awesome. It made me really miss being a home owner because huge gorgeous marble dining tables were a paltry $900 BUCKS!!!!!

My third visit was to the town of Cholula to see the ruins of the great pyramid. This pyramid is the largest monument and the largest pyramid by volume in the world. Most of the site is not excavated and the Spaniards were kind enough to build a church at the very top so the site will probably never be excavated. 5 miles of tunnels have been excavated within the pyramid. See blogroll for more details.

My fourth trip was to Tlaxcala to see an old church and to view incredible murals that are still very well preserved. One of the highlights of the trip was having a coffee where a napkin was placed under my cup. The promotional napkin had written on it a list of the wisdom of drinking coffee. Apparently, you should drink coffee because:

1. It gives you energy
2. It reduces the risk of developing cancer
3. It reduces the risk of suffering Parkinson’s disease
4. It improves asthma and allergies
5. It reduces the risk of developing diabetes
6. It reduces the risk of developing cirrhosis
7. It reduces the risk of developing Alzheimer’s
8. It reduces depression
9. Improves short term alertness, concentration and memory
10. It reduces headaches
11. It prevents blood clots
12. It is a potent antioxidant
13. It is a diuretic
14. It is an excellent source of potassium, magnesium and fluoride

WOW!!!! Who knew coffee was so good for you and who knew there are no truth in advertising laws in Mexico 🙂

Leave a Reply

