Oh Mexico!

So this is it. I leave today for Puebla and a month of Spanish language school. I have idea what it will be like, what my host family will be like or even if anyone will be at the bus station to meet me but I am off anyway. I am a little nervous about it all but an adventure I’m sure it will be. My reward for doing well is that I get to spend 8 glorious days with my kids when it is all over. I can’t wait… I miss them more than air 🙂

UPDATE

I am beyond pissed!!!!!! My American Airlines flight out of San Francisco left on time but because of some stupid headwind that they didn’t bother to speed up for, we landed 20 mins late. I dashed across terminals and of course missed my flight. The woman at the counter couldn’t give a rats ass about my problems. She basically told me that she was already late to leave and that the next flight was sold out. She booked me on the 10pm flight that gets into Mexico City after MIDNIGHT!!!! I have no way to contact the institute on a Sunday to tell them that my plane is late and now I will have to spend the night in Mexico City, start a day late and God only knows where my bags will end up. My host family is expecting me today as well. To add insult to injury, the stupid gate agent who couldn’t care less put me in a middle seat of a regular isle after I asked for emergency exit. Now, my flight doesn’t leave for 10 hours and somehow all the emergency exits are booked?

I did manage to get an email to the school and the director of the school said I could still take a bus to Puebla and they would pick me up no matter what time I go there. WHAT???? Surely this guy is not suggesting that a person who speaks no Spanish and has never been Mexico would catch a bus in the middle of the night to a place he’s never been. Maybe he hasn’t read the news about Mexico being a tad dangerous these days 🙂

One Response to Oh Mexico!

  1. Mum says:

    Perhaps you need to send this blog to American Airlines -alternatively we’ll just have it ready for 22nd Oct. if American are late from Mexico City or Bermuda with two adorable children on board who can’t wait to see their Dad(:

Leave a Reply

