Oh Canada, my home and native land.

I got up real early and decided to make the break for Canada. Skipping Glacier Nat’l park and the Going to the Sun rd. In retrospect, not the brightest idea, but I was feeling the pressure of the weather window closing in Alaska and I wanted to get moving. I headed into BC via Roosville and kept moving north. Alicia and Alex, do you remember the Columbia River in Richland? It’s the one that runs beside the park near nanny Marsha’s house. Well, I found the source!!! Check out the pictures below. Interesting in that the Columbia River basin dumps more water into the Pacific than any other river system in North or South America. Check out my blogroll for more info.

I continued on my way up through Alberta and Banff/Jasper National parks. My final destination was Hinton, Alberta and I took what is known as the Icefields Parkway to get there. WOW is all I can say. Just about as amazing a ride as you will ever find. Again, my pictures fail miserably but again check out my blogroll for more info.

I rode all day, stopping only for lunch and to take pictures. I arrived at my camp ground, checked in and merrily set up my tent. Once I had everything set up, I noticed that the camp people had put me right next to the garbage. Don’t the bears come looking for garbage at night? This could not be a good thing I thought! Anyway, it was 75 degrees outside and I laid in my tent watching a movie and sweltering to death. Of course, I woke up about ten times that night because I was FREEZING!!!! Bloody Canadian weather… no consistency. Seriously, I got up in the morning and there was ICE on the picnic table. I ran and had a hot shower and then put on every piece of clothing I owned before setting off for Dawson Creek, BC.

It was a long ride to get there but I was intent on putting miles under my belt in my quest to get to Alaska before it got too cold. The weather was a pain because it was in the forties in the mornings yet got to the seventies in the afternoon. I arrived in the late afternoon and spent two nights there. Dawson Creek is the official start of the Alaska (Alcan) Highway so I took some time to explore the history of the highway at the local tourist places. I really didn’t know much about the highway up till that point and I was amazed at the actual history of it. Quite an achievement in its time.

Columbia Lake

Icefields Parkway

I obviously gave my camera to the wrong idiot!

The road is a long way down

Columbia Icefields and Athabasca Glacier

Local inhabitants

My campsite

Start of the Alaska Hwy in Dawson Creek

2 Responses to Oh Canada, my home and native land.

  1. Nick says:

    Dude, we all know the real reason that you visited Dawson’s Creek. You wanted to relive some small part of your fave TV show, which tells the story of four teenagers as they struggle through adolescence. “This is particularly true for 15-year-olds Dawson Leery, an introspective dreamer and Joey Potter, a precocious tomboy unaware of her beauty. Best friends since childhood, they are about to enter that confusing time in life where nothing is the way it was and nothing is as it seems.” Awww…

Leave a Reply

