Oh Québec … ma belle dame!

Ainsi le lecteur de Baie-Comeau au Québec n’était pas du tout ce que je m’attendais. C’était un beau mélange de terres agricoles, mignon petites villes et les vues sur l’Océan belle. Il a été accidenté et sinueux et avait même un ferry rapide passage à niveau. Je ne pouvais pas parler la langue de la dame assise sur la Honda à côté de moi que nous avons traversé sur le ferry, mais un seul regard tout ce que nous besoin de partager les connaissances que nous étions tous deux amoureux assis là et de l’équitation nos vélos sous le soleil glorieux!

OR…..

So the drive from Baie-Comeau to Quebec was not at all what I expected. It was a beautiful mix of farmland, cute little towns and lovely ocean vistas. It was hilly and twisty and even had a quick ferry crossing. I couldn’t speak the language to the lady sitting on the Honda next to me as we crossed on the ferry but one look was all we needed to share the knowledge that we both were loving sitting there and riding our bikes under the glorious sun!

I got to the old village of Quebec around 4pm on Sunday afternoon and checked into the Hôtel des Coutellier. Having sufficiently practiced my French on the ride down, I managed to check in without resorting to English although the lovely young lady at the desk was more than happy to talk in English. The hotel is at the beginning of Rue St. Paul and is in a perfect location to explore the old village. The hotel itself was excellent and reasonably priced. I highly recommend it if anyone is going to visit.

Wanting to explore the old village, I set of with my map sufficiently marked up by the same lovely lady who checked me in. I made my way down Rue St. Paul and hooked a right onto another wonderfully French side street. As I walked admiring the scenes before me, a voice called out from behind me. “Brett… Brett, is that you!”

Now, the world is obviously a small place. An absolute drop dead gorgeous woman is calling me from across the street… NOT 🙂 Do you remember the first day I was on the road and I stopped to take a picture of that bridge in Maine? The very first fellow biker I met on the trip, Aengus, was calling out to me as I strolled around Quebec. I’m surprised he even recognized me as I didn’t have a goatee then… still I guess a freak like me is hard to miss 🙂 Anyway, we caught up for a bit after laughing about our second chance encounter and we agreed to have breakfast the next morning before we both left town.

I continued my exploration of old Quebec and thoroughly enjoyed the parts I saw. I also looked at real estate and it seemed fairly reasonable… of course anything is reasonable by Bermuda standards! I wondered around the town shooting pictures and taking in the sights and sounds. I sat down to a nice beer/dinner on the sidewalk and was pleasantly surprised when my kids called. I managed to catch up with them on Skype a little later and they actually talked to me for a whole 30 mins… and I even got some more things out of them than the usual “good” and “we’re fine” 🙂 As I went to bed that night, the wonderful sound of French ran through my head and I put Quebec City down on my list of places I could live and be happy.

Leave a Reply

