The BMW Deathtrap!!!

So, the usual ho-hum driving for an hour and a half to the ferry terminal in 55 degree fog. I was last onto the ferry and it was a short hour and a half trip from St. Barbe to Blanc Sablon. I roared out of the terminal and started the trek to Port Hope Simpson. The pavement to Red Bay was a bit beat up but still passable. The weather changed for the better and the sun was shining and it was 75 degrees. The scenery was quite beautiful as you can see.

When I got to the beginning of the gravel at Red Bay, I stopped and put the Automatic Stability Control (ASC) into off road mode and the Electronic Suspension Adjustment (ESA) into two up and off road smooth mode. I also disabled the Anti-lock Braking System (ABS) as it can be dangerous to ride off road with it on.

I rode 60 miles on the gravel doing roughly 50-55mph without even a hiccup. Then I am coming down a small incline and I go through a depression in the road… not a pothole just a little bouncy bump. All of a sudden the suspension goes haywire. The entire front suspension freaks out and all the weight is suddenly shifted to the rear. The bike is wildly swerving back and forth as I try to control it because essentially there is little to no weight on the the front tire. It was like trying to steer a snowmobile on the pavement. I came about a foot from going over the edge at 50mph in the middle of no-where! I managed to get the bike to stop and after calming my thumping heart I looked over everything including my tire tracks that swerved back and forth back up the road. There were no issues that I could see so I did a little ten mph test ride and again the the bike was un-drivable because the front suspension seemed to be fully extended and the bike’s weight distribution was to the rear. I stopped and changed the ESA back to one rider with luggage and normal mode. The settings took effect and the whole front of the bike dropped a huge distance as the ESA “released” the fully extended front shocks.

I drove rather carefully to Port Hope Simpson without further incident but now I am freakin paranoid. Is my BMW a deathtrap? It almost killed me… or scared me enough that as soon as I am back to civilization, it will be going to the nearest BMW dealer for a once over and to have the ESA thoroughly tested.

3 Responses to The BMW Deathtrap!!!

  1. Benny says:

    Crazy! It’s like iRobot all over again. The machines are thinking for themselves… Ride Safe!

  2. Kelly says:

    Ironic that you almost went over the edge literally. Is there a cosmic message in there? I have to admit it was pretty exciting reading, but I am still not ready for that! So focus and stay on the beast! You need to save some excitement for later… Love Ya!!

Leave a Reply

