Anchors Aweigh!

I slept in until 10 on Fri and then walked outside to find a nice breakfast. To my shock, the sun was shining and it must have been 70 degrees… what’s that all about? I hung around in my room after that because I was supposed to have a board of directors call but it had been canceled and Nick kindly forgot to mention that to me… thanks Nick 🙂

I stepped out of my room at 2:30 and was going to buy another ticket to see the band Anchors Aweigh again but the show was already sold out!!! Darn! Off I then went to my fjord tour and hiked back to the dock. This time the weather was a bit better but it was still pretty gray. I sat at the stern and with the wind whipping, proceeded to get nice and wet on the boat tour. Good thing it was fresh water. The fjord is pretty impressive and the sun even came out for two seconds before it began to rain again! As I departed the boat, I saw Sid and Cal standing in line for the 6pm tour. We exchanged a few laughs before I hiked and rode back to Rocky Harbour. As I got near to Rocky Harbour, the sun again came out and I decided to take the road to Lobster Cove instead of going directly to town. It turned out to be a good choice because I came upon not one but three moose grazing by the road. They looked delicious and I thought that I must try the moose burger 🙂 Sorry Alicia!

I got back to my hotel and spotted the lovely door person/hostess/woman… whatever. I had been hitting on her on Wed night as I was tipsy and she was an attractive woman. This is kind of funny because on Wed I thought she said she had a nine year old son. Talking to her at intermission on Wed night, I asked how old her son was and she looked at me strangely and said, “I don’t have a son, I have a daughter… and I have a nine year old grandson.” Yikes… I was hitting on someone’s grandmother 🙂 Turns out her daughter was 15 when she gave birth so the woman was in her mid forties… honest mistake 🙂 Anyway, I saw her again on Fri night when I returned to the hotel and I complained that the show was sold out. Well… my charm on Wed must have worked because she managed to slide me in to the show with a wink and a smile.

Now standing in a room full of people you don’t know looking for somewhere to sit is always fun. My strategy is to find the youngest people in the room and ask to sit with them. I ended up at the back with a fine couple (Ian and Allison if memory serves but mine is suspect) from St. John’s, Newfoundland who were vacationing in Rocky Harbour. I choose young people to sit with because they know how to have a bit of fun and have a few drinks. Apparently, I chose too well! We pounded back the beers and jack-n-pepsi (they don’t sell coke in Newfoundland that I see) all night long and even had some screech… minus the codfish! See my blogroll for the link on screech.

It was good fun and I had a great time with the band and with the two fine Newfies I had the good fortune to meet. I wish you guys well!

One Response to Anchors Aweigh!

  1. A and A says:

    Sounds like you are having a good time. Alicia is actually sitting here reading and listening to me as we go through this and Alex is complaining and wanting me to fix something on his nerf gun. No worries, I will get him to read it with me again later.

    I am glad you are having a good time.

    xo

    L and A and an A that isn’t focusing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

