The Cabot Trail

So expectations were high on Monday as I took off for the Cabot Trail. The route measures 298 km (185 mi) in length and completes a loop around the northern tip of Cape Breton Island, passing along and through the scenic Cape Breton Highlands. I decided to hop the ferry to Englishtown to cut off about 30 mins of the 5 plus hour adventure. I had to laugh, the “ferry” carried you across the smallest stretch of water I have ever seen. I literally could have hit an eight iron across the gap!

My expectations were high based on the input from Nick but my results were a little less satisfying. The weather had the most to do with this. It ranged from heavy rain and 68 degrees to brilliant sunshine (for about 30 mins) and 80 degrees! A real pain to ride in because I felt like I kept having to stop and disrobe or gear up every 45 mins or so. The trail itself was very beautiful and when the weather is good I can see why it holds such prestige. The shoreline is amazing, the vistas are beautiful and the roads are steep and twisty… just like bikers want them.

As I road the trail past Cheticamp, the GPS was sending me on the shortest route possible. As I flew down the road at 55 miles an hour, the GPS steers me straight ahead at a curve in the road, however, the road wasn’t actually a road it was part of the old Cabot Trail!!! I hit the packed gravel at 40 and breathed a sigh of relief that the “trail” was in good shape. Who knew you could go off road on the Cabot Trail :). Pics are below.

Leave a Reply

